Home  >  The Same God Who Works All Things
Share |
The Same God Who Works All Things
Inseparable Operations in Trinitarian Theology
HARDCOVER; Coming Soon: 3/4/2021
ISBN: 978-0-8028-7443-6
Price: $ 50.00
368 Pages
Trim Size, in inches: 6 x 9
Add To Cart

Classical trinitarianism holds that every action of Trinity in the world is inseparable. That is, the divine persons are equally active in every operation. But then, in what way did the Father create the world through Christ? How can only the Son be incarnate, die, and be resurrected? Why does Christ have to ascend before the Spirit may come? These and many other questions pose serious objections to the doctrine of inseparable operations. 

In the first book-length treatment of this doctrine, Adonis Vidu takes up these questions and offers a conceptual and dogmatic analysis of this essential axiom, engaging with recent and historical objections. Taking aim at a common “soft” interpretation of the inseparability rule, according to which the divine persons merely cooperate and work in concert with one another, Vidu argues for the retrieval of “hard inseparability,” which emphasizes the unity of divine action, primarily drawing from the patristic and medieval traditions. 

Having probed the biblical foundations of the rule and recounted the story of its emergence in nascent trinitarianism and its demise in modern theology, Vidu builds a constructive case for its retrieval. The rule is then tested precisely on the battlegrounds that were thought to have witnessed its defeat: the doctrines of creation, incarnation, atonement, ascension, and the indwelling of the Spirit. What emerges is a constructive account of theology where the recovery of this dogmatic rule shines fresh light on ancient doctrines.

Table of Contents

1. A Biblical Theology of Inseparable Operations
2. The Rise and Decline of Inseparable Operations
3. Unity and Distinction in Divine Action
4. Creation and Trinitarian Mediation
5. The Incarnation of the Son Alone
6. Christology and Trinitarian Agency
7. Atonement
8. Ascension and Pentecost
9. The Indwelling of the Holy Spirit as Love